onion_skins (onion_skins) wrote in baseball_elite,

The Internet Baseball Awards

x-posted to baseball

I’m surprised that no one else has mentioned it, but I guess we’re all focused on the playoffs. Right now there’s a little more than 24 hours left to cast your vote for the 14th Annual Internet Baseball Awards, a set of awards whose voters, in my opinion, have consistently proven to be far more intelligent than the BBWAA.

1. Alex Rodriguez
2. David Ortiz
3. Mark Teixeira
4. Brian Roberts
5. Vladimir Guerrero
6. Johan Santana
7. Mariano Rivera
8. Jhonny Peralta
9. Travis Hafner
10. Manny Ramirez

You can shout clutch all day, but I’ll take the guy who hits better and actually plays the field (and plays it well) any day of the week and twice on Sunday. Also, I know Peralta is kind of an unusual pick, but I think his solid offensive year combined with some stellar defense merits the mention.

1. Derrek Lee
2. Albert Pujols
3. Jason Bay
4. Roger Clemens
5. Brian Giles
6. Chris Carpenter
7. Miguel Cabrera
8. Morgan Ensberg
9. Carlos Delgado
10. Dontrelle Willis

Pujols and Lee are very, very close and I’m very tempted to give it to Pujols just because he’s had to deal with being the guy who lost to Barry Bonds his whole career, but the fact is that Lee has both hit and fielded better, and its not like Pujols is too old to make another run at it. Oh, and yes Andruw Jones’ 51 homers were impressive, but that .347 OBP really wasn’t.

AL Cy Young:
1. Mariano Rivera
2. Johan Santana
3. Mark Buehrle
4. Bartolo Colon
5. Jon Garland

Yeah, I know that I had Santana in front of Rivera for the MVP ballot, and when push comes to shove I’d probably have to say that Santana was probably the better pitcher. However, its very close and really depends on your opinion of the relative value of starters and closers, so, lacking a clear winner, I went with the sentimental favorite in Rivera, who probably won’t have another chance to win a Cy Young over Santana, who already has one, and probably has at least one more in the future.

NL Cy Young:
1. Roger Clemens
2. Chris Carpenter
3. Dontrelle Willis
3. Roy Oswalt
4. Andy Pettitte

Its very tempting to give this to Carpenter, not because he won eight more games than Clemens, but because he pitched forty more innings. However, had Clemens pitched those innings, he would have had to have given up over thirty runs to make it equal, which is just too much.

AL Rookie of the Year:
1. Huston Street
2. Joe Blanton
3, Gustavo Chacin

If you want to know how good a year it was for rookies, just look at the list of players who didn’t make my ballot:

Scott Kazmir
Jonny Gomes
Tadahito Iguchi
Jessie Crain
Chris Young
Robinson Cano
Chien-Ming Wang
Felix Hernandez

Any one of these guys could have won the award in the NL, but here they’re afterthoughts. As for the guys who did make the ballot, its again a question of the relative value of a closer versus a starter. I decided that a guy who was one of the best closers in the league was worthier than the guys who were “merely” above average starters.

NL Rookie of the Year:
1. Ryan Church
2. Zach Duke
3. Ryan Howard

Lacking any candidates who both played well and played all season, I decided to go with guys who at least played well. Church didn’t get the hype of Francouer or Howard but he hit just as well when you account for his home park, while playing very good defense. Honestly, though, I could just as easily vote for any of them, or Duke, and I really wouldn’t care.
  • Post a new comment


    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 1 comment